This is about my work and how I serve my Community

Creating Your Reality

Happy 2012! 

It seems to me a bit surreal.  So many thought-forms (our thoughts carry energy you know) through the eons pointed toward this time and now we are living it.  Have you considered how you are going to add to what you want to experience as we begin anew?  Are you going to let life happen around you (a bit scary in my way of thinking) or are you going to take the bull by the horns and create what you want. (Really it should be the “dragon by the horns” as we will be shortly welcoming in the Chinese year of the Dragon).  In my first post, I talked about my heart wrenching emotions of saying goodbye to my pet, whiplashed to assisting my friend in the birth of her baby and then helped another friend and her family release their beloved husband and father as he transitioned.  An amazing way to end the year and be of service to the community as I experienced what I had studied and visualized.     

The first day of each new year I spend time alone with these questions; What do I want my life to look like if there were no back doors, no excuses?  How would it feel thinking from the end/the manifestation?  Then as I see myself at the “having it place and feeling it there”, I look around and take it all in.  A journey, so to speak.  In my training with The Four Winds Society/Healing the Light Body School, we experience journeying from many aspects first for ourselves, then for others.  I did this for years before my formal training so it was such fun to laser it in and have even more tools.  It became a game to me, a curiosity and an alchemy of  finding something I wanted to experience and then trusting/allowing the synchronicity to unfold.  I always wrote it all down.

Ten years ago I found a website about backyard living.  There I found a creative key.  I will share this idea with you.  I’ll wait.  Go get some paper and a pencil.

It’s simple actually.  On the top of the paper write December 31, 2012.  Yes, that’s right.  Year end.  Now, remembering that you are writing from THAT date, create a “holiday letter” that you would send out to your family and friends.  Write down what you did, where you traveled, the job you have, relationships, etc – you get the idea, BUT make sure you write it in the past tense, first person.   Example, “Dear Family and Friends…I’m so excited to recap what I did in 2012.  In January a surprise trip to Hawaii refreshed me and I learned to snorkel.  The sights under the surface of the sea were amazing and I swam with a pod of dolphins!  That experience touched me deeply and since I have always loved the ocean, I found a group of like-minded souls to create a non-profit to clean up the beaches near me…..”  Get the idea? 

Now, spend some time writing what my junior high english teacher called a “stream of consciousness”.  Turn off the phone, tv, etc – get rid of anything that will distract and spend a few minutes “finding the stillness” within.  As Yoda said, “there is no try.  Just do”.  No pressure to be creative.  Use the questions I ask myself to begin this for yourself.  You’ll find them in the 2nd paragraph.   Create a list first.  Then using the list of desires (maybe from your bucket list?), begin writing.  Just let your mind take you on the journey.

The first time I did this was in October 2002.  I had just changed my life by moving from Texas back to California and attended massage school near Yosemite.  My class was over the end of June and I remained at school to aid my teacher (Thomas Ahern, Ahern’s Massage School in Mariposa, CA) and had begun my new life as a massage therapist.  I loved that I found the courage to change my life and begin a new career, but I was desperately seeking some roots. I dated my letter 12/31/2002, tapped into my deep desires and began.  2 hours later I finished and was shocked that so much time had passed.

I went to bed and all night dreamed about what I had written.  Remember, deep desires!  In the space between sleep and waking, I felt excitement for what I dreamed about (not knowing it was only a dream), thinking I got to get up and do it.  Then when I was fully awake, I felt disappointment because it was the dream.  But, within 6 weeks, I began living that dream and had received everything in my letter within 3 months!  I had to write another letter and create yet more experiences!    

I hope this has spurred you to create your life on purpose!  It is worth the time invested being the author of your life.  Blessings on your path.

Comments on: "Creating Your Reality" (1)

  1. Lisa Reif said:

    Happy New Year Vicki. Thank you for reminding me to do this again this year and to spend some time alone seeing my life the way I want it to be. I “tried” last year, instead of doing. I am hopeful that this year (I am a dragon) will be full of fire (passion) and light (Love). I am sure that you will be part of my life forever more and I am so blessed. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

